ion8 Forfarshire Cricket Club News story

Forfarshire CC 2019 Prizewinners

24 Feb 2020

Forfarshire’s annual Awards Night was held at Forthill on Saturday night (22nd February) to celebrate the successes of the 2019 season and present the annual individual prizes.

Michael Leask took home the coveted 1st XI batting rosebowl with an impressive 845 runs at an average of 56.33 while Brock Ditchmen was the well deserved winner of the 1st XI bowling trophy with 40 wickets at just 13.3 runs apiece!

Graeme Garden collected the 2nd XI batting trophy with 539 runs at an average of 44.9, including a magnificent century on the last weekend of the season. Spinning his way to the 2nd XI bowling title was Fergus Duncan who took 16 wickets at only 12.50 each. Fergus also received the 3rd XI batting prize, for 248 runs at an average of 41.3.

Liam Latto took home the 3rd XI bowling trophy with 9 wickets at 25.9 each to complete a great week, having received the Young Volunteer of the Year award at the Dundee Sports Awards just a few days earlier.

The 4th XI awards saw Ross Bailey receive the batting trophy with 89 runs from 5 games at an average of 17.8 alongside Tom Bruce who took 7 wickets at 21.7 while conceded only 152 runs in 44 overs bowled to take away the bowling trophy.

The junior awards completed the presentations for the evening:

Under 14 Bowling - Emily Arthur;  Under 14 Batting - Zoe Bailey;  Under 16 Bowling - Zoe Bailey;  Under 16 Batting - Lewis Robinson;  Under 18 Player of the Year - Lewis Robinson.

Dundee Round Table Award for International Honours - Fergus Duncan and Zoe Bailey;  Thistle Trophy Most Improved Player - Zoe Bailey;  John Adams Award for the Most Promising Player - Thomas Knight.

Congratulations to all the prizewinners, and thank you to everyone that attended the evening.